A collection of brief encounters, which hinge on the slightest details and gestures: a written note, a fleeting facial expression, a movement of eyelashes. Little measurements that occasionally tip scales.

In contrast to 2009’s To Leave A Mark, Little Measurements is an album of collaborations. EL Heath contributes gorgeous ondes Martenot counter-melodies to the opener, A Year, and warm, sustained notes on the accordion to the closing track, Unwritten By Hand. Talk Less, Say More appears on The Visitor, providing fizzing drum beats and synth drones. James Taylor, formerly of Silver Gospel Runners, embellishes Not Aware and No One Else with delicate flourishes of slide guitar. Tim Wright of Neume Audio adds clarinet (Your Answer), glockenspiel (Little Measurements), and haunted attic sounds (From A Room) to the mix.

Tim Wright is even more prominent in his role as producer. Throughout the album, his subtle use of panning, sampling, and delay effects creates an intimate, and at times unsettling atmosphere.

Little Measurements is a wonderful record, mature in execution, stunning in detail. A compelling, beautiful, moving and lyrical work worth close attention and repeated careful listening, Little Measurements is a sublime, affective experience.

Track List

  • 1. A Year (2.53)
  • 2. The Visitor (1.49)
  • 3. Your Answer (3.08)
  • 4. Little Measurements (3.55)
  • 5. Restless Night, Restful Morning (3.37)
  • 6. Not Aware (2.44)
  • 7. Past The Dawn (3.08)
  • 8. From A Room (3.16)
  • 9. No One Else (4.07)
  • 10. Unwritten By Hand (2.58)
Creative Commons License

This release is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License. Essentially, this means you can give it to your friends if you like, as long as you aren't charging for it.